Shakthi-kutaikataapanna-katyadhobhagha-dharini   Leave a comment

Sri Matre Namaha

Shakthi-kutaikataapanna-katyadhobhagha-dharini – The Eighty Seveth name in Lalitha Sahasranamam.


Saktinamkena kutenaektamapannam kateh adhobhagam dharayatiti tatha

She who bears (the portion) lower from the waist is identical with Saktikuta

Saktikuta is the third part of the Pancadasi Mantra. It is a group of four syllables. It is called so because of its power of creation.

Thus the above three names ( nos 85, 86 and 87) represent three kutas of Pancadasi which are made up of fifteen syllables Ka, e, i,la, hrim, ha,sa,ka, ha,la, hrim, sa, ka, la, Hrim and this is the subtle form of the Goddess.

Shakthi kuta, the last of the three groups is compared to Her hip downwards.

She represents saktikuta from the waist downwards

The last four letters (Shakthi koota) Sa-ka-la-hrim, starts from the Agna chakra like the soothing light of billions of moon and touches the Lalata Madhya(The center of the forehead). This series of sounds is supposed to start from the baser instincts (Compared to a coiled serpent sleeping in The Mooladhara) lights one by one the Stomach, the chest and travels through the Sushmna Nadi and blossoms the unopened bud of the Lotus with thousand petals in the brain. Once this is opened the Yogis believed that there is no knowledge in earth and heaven that you did not know.

Let us see the agna chakra to understand the sakthi koota .The Ajna chakra is positioned at the eyebrow region and has two white petals, said to represent the psychic channels, Ida and Pingala, which meet here with the central Sushumna nadi (channel) before rising to the crown chakra,Sahasrara. These petals also represent the manifest and unmanifest mind, as well as the pineal and pituitary glands. ‘Ham’ is the letter of the left petal, and ‘ksham’ is the letter of the right petal, representing shiva and shakthi, respectively. “Pranava Om”, the supreme sound, is the bij, or seed mantra of this chakra. Ajna is considered the chakra of the mind. When something is seen in the mind’s eye, or in a dream, it is being ‘seen’ by Ajna.

Residing in the chakra is the Ardhanarishvara symbolising the union of sakthi and siva at this stage.

When one establishes himself in the place between the eyebrows he goes beyond all the kinds of desires that motivate life and impel one to move in many directions. All experience and ideas serve only to clarify one’s perceptions in Ajna Chakra. The plane of neutrality (Sarasvati) appears as a balance between solar and lunar energy within the body.

Ida and Pingala are time-bound; up to the fifth chakra the yogi also is time bound, but as Ida and Pingala end here, the yogi moves into Sushumna, beyond time.He is now in a state of nondual consciousness.

Negative and positive, the components of duality, become equalized in Sarasvati, leaving a state of pure music and neutrality.Ida (Ganga, feminine, lunar) and Pingala (Jamuna, masculine, solar) nerve energies separate from the Sushumna channel at the Muladhara chakra, interwine up through all chakras and meet with the Sarasvati, becoming one at Ajna Chakra. This brings the sense of oneness and of unity with the cosmic laws that appear in the plane of austerity. They then again separate, running into the left and right nostrils.

Ardhanarishvara stands in a lingam known as Itara Lingam. The lingam is shining white, like the color of light. The male half of Ardhanarishvara has camphor-blue skin. He holds a trident in his right hand, representing the three aspects of consciousness : cognition, conation, and affection.

The female side of Ardhanarishvara is pink. She wears a red sari, and about her neck and arms are wound shining golden ornaments. She holds a pink lotus, a symbol of purity. All duality has ceased. Shiva has total command over all aspects of the self in this plane of liberation, or moksha.
The third eye of Shiva is called sva-netra, the organ of clairvoyance. Becoming Sada-Shiva, the eternal one, Shiva is no longer separate from Shakti as a separate male entity. Devata Shiva is the granter of knowledge. This knowledge brings the breath (prana) and the mind under control of Ardhanarishvara.

The energy is Hakini. Hakini Shakti has four arms and six heads. Her skin is pale pink, and her jewelry is golden and shines with gems. Wearing a red sari, she sits on a pink lotus with her left foot raised. She imparts the knowledge of unconditional truth, the awareness of nonduality.

so she represents agna chakra down her waist and it also means she represents knowing the knower and his realisation of her and every nerve in her body is represented by the ida and pingala.the mention of third ey also brings in the fact that indian women wearing kumkum is to protect the agna chakra.Kumkum, which is made from the turmeric powder is an auspicious symbol. Kumkum is applied to the forehead of a visiting girl or married woman as a sign of blessing and respect.

Previous Eighty Sixth Name Kantadha-katiparyantha-madhyakuta-swarupini

Next Eighty Eighth Name Moolamantratmika


Posted February 2, 2012 by UdayaBhaaskarBulusu

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: