Nitya-parakramatopa-nirikshana-samutsuka   1 comment

Sri Matre Namaha

Nitya-parakramatopa-nirikshana-samutsuka -harsita – The Seventy Third name in Lalitha Sahasranamam.


Nityanam (=nityakhyadevatanam) parakramasyatopasya niriksnane samayagutsuka

She who is interested and happy in observing the valour of Nithya devathas (literally goddess of every day)

She rejoices at beholding the increasing valor of the nityas.

The fifteen Nityadevatas (i.e., Kala Nityas) begin with Kamesvari and end with Citra. They preside over the fifteen days of the lunar month. The names has references to the power of the Nityas displayed in destroying fifteen leaders of armies, i.e., Damanaka, Citragupta, etc.

Nitya (= anadisiddhah svatmasaktayah) tatparakramatopasya iksane uttarottaramuksuka

Nityas means the eternal energies of one’s soul. Parakramatopa = continual progress. The embryo of knowledge if once developed in the inner soul continues to increase. This is said in the yogavsista Nitya means thithi nitya devis (refer nama 71). Lalitha was happy on observing the valour of these 15 thithi nitya devis during the war. When duality is destroyed and the veil of maya is removed, the knowledge of Brahman continues to increase over a period of time. Once spiritual progress is made, this cannot be reversed. This is the secretive meaning of this nama.

This line indicates the importance of the different devathas and when we worship these devathas it directly touches her and she is to understand her we should understand the different devathas and the mode of worship.

In vedic astrology there 4 types of devata

1. ista devata                                       2. palana devata                                           3. karama devata                                4. guru devetha

1.Ista devata:

Every human being takes birth due to their karma from the previous births. After death, the body, mind and the soul separate, and body gets merged into the pancha tatva while mind and the soul follow the path of the ayanas, toward the planes deserved by accomplished karma. So the cycle goes on, and it will never stop unless one is given a moksha. Many people have wrong concept of moksha, mistaking the term for spirituality, which can be defined in so many ways. I am not going to discuss moksha right here, but will just add that it is often conceived as final emancipation of the soul. There are different types of moksha, and different paths to it. In jyotisha there are a few planets which play an important role, among which Atmakaraka (the planet in the highest degree, excluding rahu whose counting is done in reverse) and Ishta Devata are the most important.The term ‘Ishta Devata’ literally means ‘the main deity’.

This Deity can bless one with good passage through life. What ismore, Ishta Devata is responsible for granting moksha to the native. Hence, its worship not only ensures that one’s whole life is taken care of, but also makes it certain that one is moving towards liberation.As far as the worship of other Devatas is concerned, the list of those Deities and their corresponding planets was given by Parashara Muni in his Brihat Parashara Hora Shastra inthe chapter on Karakamsa. It was also presented by Jaimini Maharishi in his Upadesha Sutras (1.2.72–79): Surya indicates Lord Shiva, Chandra indicates Gouri, Shukra indicates Lakshmi, Mangal indicates Skanda, Buddha and Shani both indicate Lord Vishnu, Guru indicates Samba Shiva, Rahu indicates Tamasi or Durga and Ketu indicates Lord Ganesha.

Everyone is eligible for the worship of one’s Ishta Devataand everyone at least should know their Ishta Devata. Theprocess of worship is simple and is based on the chanting of the dvadakshari mantra for the appropriate Deity. Although this chanting alone is very powerful, an ideal situation is when one also performs panca upachara puja to one’s IshtaDevata.

The term ‘dvadakshari mantra’ means ‘the twelve syllable mantra’. An examplary dvadakshari mantra for Lord Vishnu as Ishta Devata is given by the Parashara Muni in his Vishnu Purana. The ugra madhusudana mantra given there by the sage is as follows: om namo bhagavate vasudevaya. Parashara Muni advises people to chant it and says that with this mantra we ask Lord Vishnu to pick up His sudarshana chakra and liberate us. The mantra bhoga of this particular mantra is mukti. Therefore it should be done for one’s Ishta Devata with the purpose of making progress towards final emancipation.

2. palana devata:

The Palana devata is the deity that will provide for your material needs in this life. Like a mother She will see to it that you have food, home, resources etc.

3. Karma devata:

Kula devata is also the karma devata.One should always pray to their kuladevata for any boons or favours. Please do remember that it is your Kula devatha who will help you in any kind of Spiritual and Material Prosperity.

If you ask how it is, then the KARMAS comes in picture, as you may aware that SANJITHA, PRABRABTHA,AKAMYA karmas baggages we are carrying and due to Prabrabtha karma it is everyones’ duty to perform Kula devatha pooja wherever the deity is irrespective of the distance. Of course, now you need to gather family member which seems to be difficult in your case, you can pray mANASEEKA to Kuladevatha about inability to make it. She will certainly listen to it.

Hence, donot hate or ignore kuladevatha, instead whatever pooja (pouring milk , feeding poor infront of the deity etc) should be conducted on any auspicious day immediately , you can see that things are going good !!!

And also, remember that every year ( especially duringthe Amavasya /Pournami which falls on Monday or Friday) is an auspicious for kuladevatha pooja during which you have to perform Abhisheka and feeding as much as poor people to be conducted so that your Kula Devatha’s blessings are guranteed to all your family members !!!

4.Guru devata:

Jupiter God – Guru is the presiding deity of religious inclinations and prosperity.

He is also the presiding deity of married life for women. He is described in the Puranas as Brhaspati, the preceptor of the devatas.He is often depicted in a standing posture with four hands, in one of which he holds a weapon called the vajra-ayudha. He rules Sagittarius and Pisces.worship of the guru brings happiness and prosperity.

The discussion on these devathas only goes to show that performing the poojas and respecting these devathas helps mankind and that is the reason why she is happy knowing fully well that prayers to these devathas brings prosperity to her devotees.

Previous Seventy Second Name Bhandasainya-vadhodhyukta-shakthivikrama-harsita  

Next Seventy Fourth Name Bhandaputra-vadhodhyuktha-bala-vikrama-nandhita


Posted January 31, 2012 by UdayaBhaaskarBulusu

One response to “Nitya-parakramatopa-nirikshana-samutsuka

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I simply want to say I’m new to blogging and site-building and absolutely loved you’re blog site. More than likely I’m want to bookmark your site . You surely come with perfect articles and reviews. Thanks a lot for revealing your blog site.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: