Kulantastha   Leave a comment

Sri Matre Namaha

Kulantastha – The Ninety Third name in Lalitha Sahasranamam.


Kulasyantah ( = matreyayoh madhye) (mitirupena) Sthita

She is residing in the middle of the kula

Kula, as explained, means the triad of matr, meya and miti. She is present between the measurer (i.e., matr, otherwise called perceiver) and the thing measured (meya). She resides in the form of miti, i.e., the measuring.

Kulasya (sastrasya) antah madhye (jneyatvena) sthita

According to this interpretation, the word kula means scripture.

She is standing in the midst of the scriptures in the form of the object of knowledge, i.e., jneya.

Kula also means scriptures. She resides in the midst of these scriptures. This nama could possibly mean devi Saraswathi, the goddess of letters, as she is supposed to be root for all scriptures. This also means the spinal cord as the sushumna is called the path of kula. In the triad we have seen earlier (nama 90), she is in the form of worthy of knowing (known). She is the object of the knowledge of kula. Kula means Shakthi. Shakthi prevails everywhere i.e. omnipresence. This situation is well described in Kena Upanishad as ‘pratibodha-viditam’ which means ‘known at all levels of sadaka’s consciousnesses.

She who is fit to be worshipped any where.Kula also means scriptures. She resides in the midst of these scriptures. This nama could possibly mean devi Saraswathi, the goddess of letters, as she is supposed to be root for all scriptures. Vedas means divine wisdom. Divine wisdom is divided into 4 parts viz. Rig, Yaju, Saam and Atharva. Rig encompasses well-being, attaining God, performing one’s duty, love, austerities, compassion, helping others, generosity, service, vision of God, divinity, soul peace, divine creativity, sense of righteousness etc. Yaju encompasses daring, hard work, valour, bravery, protection, attack, leadership, name/ fame, victory, status etc. Saam encompasses play, merriment, joy, art of music, literature, touch, the gross objects of the 5 senses & cogitation over them, imagination of what one adores, movement, attraction, contentment etc.

Atharva encompasses wealth, glory, gathering of objects, scriptures, herbs, food, clothes, ores, house, vehicles etc.Study any living being and seriously & scientifically analyze their gross / subtle and external / internal activities and imaginations. Only then will you realize that their total consciousness moves about in 4 areas only viz

1) Rig – well being 2) Yaju – valour 3) Saan – sports 4) Atharva – wealth.

Apart from these 4 areas, the wisdom flow of all living beings is not to be seen anywhere else. Rig can be called righteousness (Dharma), Yaju can be called salvation (Moksha), Saam can be called desires (Kaam) and Atharva can also be called wealth (Arth). In fact these are the 4 faces of Brahma (Creator). Brahma is said to be 4 faced despite having one face only because 4 types of wisdom flow emanates from his person. The meaning of Veda is wisdom and hence is one only. Yet despite being one only, it is seen expressing 4 aspects in the psyche of human beings. Hence 1 Veda has been classified under 4 headings for our benefit. In fact these are also the 4 arms of Lord Vishnu. These 4 classifications have been further classified as 4 Ashrams (Brahmacharya, Grihasthashram, Vanaprasthashram and Sanyasashram) and 4 Varnas (Brahmin, Kshatriya, Vaishya, Shudra ).

All these 4 types of wisdom are manifestations of that very conscious energy which was created by the Parasakthi at the beginning of creation of this world and which was labeled as Gayatri by scriptural scholars. In this manner, Gayatri is the Mother of the 4 Vedas. Hence she is called Vedmata. Just as the element water has 4 forms viz. ice, steam (clouds, fog etc.), wind (hydrogen /oxygen) and flowing water (rivers etc.) and just as the element fire is experienced variedly like burning,heat, light and movement in the same way Wisdom – Gayatri manifests in 4 forms of the 4 Vedas. If Gayatri is a Mother then the 4 Vedas are her sons.So far we have elucidated the subtle nature of Gayatri as Vedmata. Now let us cogitate upon Gayatri’s gross form. Brahmaji via the 4 Vedas created the 24-lettered Gayatri Mantra. Every letter of this single Mantra has a subtle divine principle which when activated manifests the branches, sub-branches of the 4 Vedas. A tiny seed of a Banyan tree has a gigantic Banyan tree subtly embedded in it. When this seed is sown, it starts growing into a gigantic tree with many branches, sub-branches, leaves, fruits etc. It is gigantic when you compare it to the size of the tiny, miniscule seed from which it has grown.

This holds true for the 24 letters of Gayatri because they can be compared to the abovementioned seed. When these seeds of Gayatri sprout forth, they manifest as the gigantic Vedas. Shakti (Divine Energy) is of 2 types. That Shakti which is responsible for the propagation of the inert world is called Prakriti and that Shakti which is responsible for creation of a conscious world is called Savitri.Two Shaktis are at work in creation of inert /conscious worlds viz.

1) Sankalp Shakti (power of resolve) 2) Parmanu Shakti (atomic energy).

But at first it was Sankalp Shakti that was made use of because without that, a conscious world can never be created. And without consciousness, how can atomic energy be utilized? The inert world was by itself inert because neither can anyone know about it nor is it of any use. For the ease of manifesting consciousness, inert materials are used as its means of creation.so there was one Brahman (God or all-pervading soul) and from that manifested Adi Shakti (Primordial Divine Energy). This Adi Shakti is called Gayatri.

Brahman divided itself into 3 categories

1) Sattva – which is “Hreem” or Saraswati 2) Rajas – called “Shreem” or Lakshmi 3) Tamas – called “Kleem” or Kali.

In reality there were only 2 categories of Brahman in the form of Sattva and Tamas and an admixture of these 2 gave rise to Rajas. It is like the Indian Rivers Ganga and Jamuna uniting to form Saraswati river. In reality Saraswati is not a separate river. Just as the union of Ganga and Jamuna results in Saraswati, in the same way an admixture of Sattva and Tamas results in Rajas. This is thus the 3-fold Prakriti (nature) of God.That is the reason it is mentioned that she is everywhere and could be worshipped in any form.

Previous Ninty Second Name Kulangana                                                      Next Ninety Fourth Name Kaulini


Posted February 2, 2012 by UdayaBhaaskarBulusu

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: